Skip to the content


What is a CQUIN?

The Commissioning for Quality and Innovation (CQUIN) payment framework enables commissioners to link a proportion of providers' income to the achievement of quality improvement goals.

CQUIN schemes equate to 2.5% of the total contract value for providers.

There are eight nationally set CQUIN schemes and all providers to which national CQUIN goals apply must work towards those that are applicable to them.

The National CQUIN priorities for 2017-19 are:

  1. Sustainability and Transformation Plans
  2. Finance
  3. Primary Care
  4. Urgent and Emergency Care
  5. Elective Care
  6. Cancer
  7. Mental Health