Skip to the content

Menu

Community diabetes service

Community Diabetes Specialist Nurse Service

The Community Diabetes Specialist Nurse Service is a small team of community diabetes specialist nurses, covering the Berkshire West CCG area.  The Team Lead is Claire Rowell and the nurses all work part-time, on various days from Monday-Friday. They work at separate trusts, from Melrose House to the Diabetes Centre at the Royal Berkshire Hospital, although they do all work closely with Consultant Ian Gallen, who works half-time as a Community Diabetologist.

They facilitate all the patient education for people with type 1 and Type 2 diabetes as well as delivering the BEST 4 Diabetes HCP Education Programme, Carb Aware, Virtual Clinics and working alongside HCPs in diabetes clinics.

They each cover a group of surgeries. Their individual contact details are below. They also have an HCP Phone for instant advice, which is answered Monday-Friday 10-4pm (This is a mobile phone that travels with them (if not answered, keep trying as they may be driving).

Claire Rowell (Team Lead)
Claire.rowell@berkshire.nhs.uk
07920236063
Katie Edwards
Katie.edwards@berkshire.nhs.uk
07768 120582
Kirsten Bailkoski
kirsten.bailkoski@berkshire.nhs.uk
Tel 07769243294  
Daniel Edwards
Daniel.edwards@berkshire.nhs.uk
07768 124132

Vicky O’Doherty
Victoria.Odoherty@berkshire.nhs.uk
07887632203

Angela Harding
angela.harding@berkshire.nhs.uk
07887632174

 

Team email - diabetesnursereferrals@berkshire.nhs.uk
These contact details are for health care professionals only, please do not give to patients.

Health Care Professional Phone Line 07879 814922 Monday- Friday 10-4pm

Diabetes Consultant Service
Virtual diabetes clinics (VDC) facilitated by Dr Ian Gallen

In the VDCs, Dr Gallen visits practices (by invitation) and reviews patients which the practice team have identified as having a problem with glycaemic control or other diabetes related issues, to device a plan of care. The initial clinics have been enjoyable, productive and educational. Please contact Dr Gallen to request a VDC visit: